Learning About Second Life

18 07 2007

sl-car.jpg

I ordered a new book “A Beginner’s guide to Second Life” Book 1: Version 1.1 (5/2007) by v3image. I ordered it from Amazon.com. I bought it because I joined Second Life while at necc07 and I wanted to learn more about the history of Second Life and how to go beyond the basics. I also bought it because I am hoping to give a presentation to other educators at our school about Second Life and thought the book would give me a good background.

So far, so good. I am learning that when I get around, I don’t have to walk around in the dark. I found that scary and a little intimidating. I am learning about how to work with my inventory. In my first experiences I had located a lot of free stuff and I found that I have a lot of cool things. This book tought me how to go to a sandbox and freely explore my stuff.

The next step is learning how to build things. I haven’t learned how to do fun things like sky dive or ride a whale like Jennifer Wagner. (Her Second Life Photo Album Rocks!) But, I was invited to see an awesome fireworks show on her roof of her apartment. Here’s a few picts.

fireworks3.jpg

fireworks2.jpg

fireworks11.jpg

I’m gaining knowledge as I slowly learn to maneuver. The best part of all, though, is the social networking – which, is what Second Life is all about. I know this will be a long journey because I have a RL (real life) in which I live. The opportunities are endless for sharing with other technology educators. I can’t wait, yet my brain can’t seem to absorb it all. I appreciate the willingness of those more experienced to share with us newbies. I am going to call it “The Great Adventure!”

Technorati Tags:

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 07 2007
JenW

Grins —
next time we will remind you to set your SUN to NIGHT to enjoy the fireworks even more.

I hope you have a great time in SL…….and I think I should buy that book too. Thanks for sharing!

Jennifer

18 07 2007
mstina

Hi Jen,
LOL! It’s funny, but it did start out as night, and then the sun slowly rose as the fireworks progressed. I never did learn how to look upwards. Maybe next time. I still am learning how to keep up with multiple conversations. I will have to practice more with that! I also saw that Kathy Schrock bought the same book recently. I am reading her blog on the Lighthouse Learning Island.

1 08 2007
mrsdurff

I did comment here and on your husband’s! You accuse unfairly! Do sign up for both del.icio.us [http://del.icio.us/] and technorati [http://www.technorati.com/] Doing so will increase authority (technorati calls it that) and readership, but it does take time. Hyperlink to other’s blogs in your posts, like here, where i hyperlink to John’s [http://durffsblog.blogspot.com/2007/07/power-of-twitterverse.html] This is like a reference. Usually people will come see what you said about them, though i know john probably won’t. i put a bloglog widget on my blog that shows who was there. join bloglogs here [http://www.mybloglog.com/] Scroll down on my blog to see it…you’re both doing great!

Leave a Reply

