Counting My Blessings

28 08 2007

This morning I received a love note from my husband. It was a pleasant surprise. Our anniversary is coming up Sept. 12th. We’ve been married since 1998, and together since August 1996. We are getting ready to take a weekend get-away to the beach. I look forward to doing this every year.

As I was eating breakfast, I was thinking about how blessed I am. Sure, life has had its troubles, but not like some people. Sometimes it is so easy to focus on the negative instead of the positive in life. Every now and then, I need to remind myself to count my many blessings. I like how my husband does it. He’ll just say out loud, ” Don’t we have a wonderful yard with beautiful trees and grass?” “Don’t we have a beautiful house with wood floors and beautiful glass windows?” I love how he so appreciates all that we have.

More than anything, I am thankful for the people in my life. I am thankful for my husband, who is positive and upbeat. He is energetic and fun. He has a great sense of humor and loves to play little jokes on people. He is my cheerleader and tells me “Just remember honey, you’ve got a big red sword!” I am very blessed to have him in my life.

I am blessed to have had 2 terrific boys, and then added 3 more wonderful children through my husband’s prior marriage. They are all bright, intelligent, caring adults. We are now up to 9 grandchildren, with more to come! What a huge blessing all of them are! I have proudly taken on the new name of “Nana Tina!”

It took me a very long time, but while single, God made a way for me to go to college and get my Bachelor’s degree. That was one of the single, most defining moments in my life. It was an accumulation of close to 15 years of work. Then, I was even more fortunate to get my Master’s degree. Receiving those degrees has truly been a blessing in that they opened doors for me that I never dreamed would happen in my lifetime.

I am also blessed to have a job where I am able to work in education and technology – two areas that I love. How great is that? The good Lord has richly blessed me. He has always made a way for me, even when things were difficult. He has been so faithful to me.

Some days, things don’t always go perfectly. On those days, it really does help to stop and count your blessings. Those bad things will suddenly diminish and you will be reminded of what’s really important in life – love, your health, friends and family.

Have a blessed day!

Tina

Technorati Tags:
Actions

Information

2 responses

28 08 2007
mrsdurff

We are blessed to know you both!

30 08 2007
Amy

Great post Tina! Counting our blessings is indeed the best way to remind ourselve just how fortunate we really are. You are one of my many blessings!

Leave a Reply

