Thank God for Freedom!

1 10 2007

patrick-kirby4.jpg

Patrick Kirby

This is Patrick Kirby. He is my cousin’s husband. He is preparing to be deployed again, possibly to Kuwait, Iraq or Afghanistan. He is a former U.S. Marine, and is now serving in the U.S. Army. I am so grateful to him and others like him who fight for our freedom. He serves our country on a daily basis. He is proud to serve our country.

When I was a little girl, I was evacuated during the Six-day War while living in Tripoli, Libya. I remember riding between a car pressed between two mattresses because of the possibility of our car being attacked. I also remember spending the night on the floor in the schoolhouse at the base and being evacuated in an military airplane. My dad says they were shooting at our airplane as we were flying out.

People sometimes think that we should move past the 9/11 event and get on with life. I think we should not get complacent. We shouldn’t live in fear, but we should always remember that there are terrorists who hate us, and hate our way of life. Therefore, I am thankful for people like Patrick Kirby who are willing to protect us.

Thank God for America and the freedoms we have!


Actions

Information

2 responses

2 10 2007
Danita Russell

Thank God for these brave men and women who serve so that we can be free. We should all take the time to thank them for their sacrifices. May God be with you, watch over you, and protect you as you protect us.

You are not forgotten!
Danita

24 11 2009
greg

Hey I’m an old Army buddy of his. I ws deployed to Kuwait with Kirby. Is there any way you can get in touch with him and tell him to contact me? He hopefully still has my cell number and everyhting.

Leave a Reply

